September 16th 1975

“Preparing devilish doings for Nobby’s birthday – heh heh! Went to see Towelling in Pernod avec Holly – good film!”

So, another disaster movie for a first date eh? I never learned a thing did I?

“Towelling in Pernod” is my awful cod-English pun for the Irwin Allen blockbuster “Towering Inferno”, the tale of a newly built skyscraper which, as a result of shoddy workmanship, catches fire on its opening night.

It was a 1974 film which gave a whole new meaning to the phrase “all-star cast”, featuring amongst others Paul Newman, Steve McQueen, Faye Dunaway, Robert Vaughan, Fred Astaire, Robert Wagner, William Holden and even a certain Simpson of the “O.J.” variety!

The film is over three hours long, presumably giving me ample time to edge my arm around Holly’s shoulder and pull her tightly towards me during exciting scenes, and/or edge the tips of my fingers towards one of her female assets.

“The Towering Inferno” is certainly a film which – to me anyway – has stood the test of time quite well. I have watched it countless times on television, always conveniently forgetting the outcome of many of the major characters.

The burning question is did this movie date light a spark between me and Holly? Time will indeed tell, but I don’t think I said “You’re Fired” too quickly?!

As for the ‘devilish doings’ that are being prepared for Nobby’s 18th, your guess is as good as mine!

1 Comment

Filed under 1975 Diary Entries

One response to “September 16th 1975

  1. I still carry the scars … I’ve tried to forget the 17th September 1975 … it was a dark time in my life … I’ve been told I must put it in a locked place and throw away the key … but now you’ve put it right back out there.

    OMG !!!

Leave a Reply

