August 11th 1975

“Work. In evening went to see Tommy with Debbie, Nig and Kim. Film was absolutely incredible”

I loved, loved, LOVED this movie!

Truth be told I STILL love this movie.

It’s an exercise in excess, Director Ken Russell assulting the senses from start to finish with his adaptation of The Who’s classic rock opera about that deaf, dumb and blind kind (who played a mean pinball).

The casting of the various roles are as bizarre as they are perfect. A manic Tina Turner as The Acid Queen, Jack Nicholson as the Doctor, Eric Clapton as the Preacher, Robert Powell as Tommy’s Dad and Elton John as the wannabe pinball wizard. The lead roles are saved for Roger Daltrey, Oliver Reed – whose singing is, let’s just say, an ‘acquired taste’ – and the rather scrumptious Ann-Margret as Tommy’s unhinged mother.

I have never been able to look a baked bean squarely in the eye since first seeing this in 1975…

Rumour has it the the above scene was Russell’s not so discreet method of ‘revenge’ against the various detergent and bean commercials he was forced to direct at the start of his (eventually long and illustrious) career.

When I got my first VCR, “Tommy” was one of the first films I recorded and then later bought. I likewise snapped it up on DVDs when they hit the scene. Even now, and despite owning the disc and being able to watch it whenever, I will still watch “Tommy” whenever it appears on our TV listings.

Despite all this I still haven’t watched it as many times as The Who’s other movie ‘opus’, the magnficient “Quadrophenia”, but it was easier for me to relate to a scooter-riding mod than it was a would-be religious cult leader!

Some of the magnificent scenes from “Tommy”…

2 Comments

Filed under 1975 Diary Entries

2 responses to “August 11th 1975

  1. I sat through it 3 times in one day at the Odeon – I think you may have been there too – I’ll wait to see in future posts.

    • teenagerockopera

      I have a vague recollection of this. Not sure its mentioned in my diary though? – typical… something good to write about and I’m unlikely to!

Leave a Reply

