March 7th 1975

• “off college – Nob came round and brought me “Best Years of our Lives” – incredible elpee!”

What a gent my mate Nob was. This Cockney Rebel album – actually the first to be monikered as by Steve Harley and Cockney Rebel was released this very week in 1975.  I’m on my ‘death bed’ and Nob brings me over this new LP, ‘hot off the presses’ so to speak.

I plan to dedicate a post to this album in its entirety at some stage in the near future – after I have similarly done the same with “The Human Menagerie” and “The Psychomodo” – but its worth pointing out that this album had already yielded a Number One hit single – ” Make Me Smile (Come Up & See Me) ” – a month earlier.

It held the top spot for just two weeks but, it created one of those monster ‘lifetime’ income generators for Harley, the result of finding vast popular respect, being re-released time and time again (almost always proving to be a hit) and being covered by bands such as Duran Duran, Erasure, Suzi Quatro and The Wedding Present.

Trivia freaks may care to know that one of the backing vocals on “Make Me Smile” was that of Tina Charles, destined to be a future chart-topper in her own right with the endearing disco hit ” I Love to Love (But My Baby Loves to Dance)

1 Comment

Filed under 1975 Diary Entries

One response to “March 7th 1975

  1. I have absolutely no recollection of this.

    I am now worried that I might also be Viv and the name has been changed to hide the true nature of our relationship.

    Why don’t I remember – it was only yesterday wasn’t it?

Leave a Reply

