(1974 Album) Santana – Abraxas

With its trippy-dippy cover featuring not one, but two naked women, I think this can easily be regarded as Santana’s finest album.

This was me casting my personal musical net a little further, Carlos’ rock guitar work overlaying samba & Latin rhythms, all infused with a kind of lazy funk.

I think it was the groovy keyboard work that got me the most though, highlighted by my favourite cut on the album “Oyé Como Va“, that Hammond underpinning the entire track.

Probably the only Santana album that has resonated with me over the years and not just because I had a hankering to be that white dove or a tall striped bongo drum.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1974 Diary Entries

Leave a Reply

