(1974 Album) Pink Floyd – A Nice Pair


Once naive little record collector that I was, it actually took me a few years to realise that “A Nice Pair” was actually a repackaging of Floyd’s first two albums, “Piper at the Gates of Dawn” and “A Saucerful of Secrets

I think I bought this album cheaply from Martin’s newsagent in Eastleigh’s Market Street. For some reason this newsagent had a record section where it would sell shrinkwrapped albums off relatively inexpensively, probably as an early form of ‘loss leader’, later perfected by the supermarket chains following the advent of CD.

I’ll be honest and say I can’t remember playing it very much. True, “Piper…” contained the magnificent “Astronomy Domine” and “Interstellar Overdrive” but I favoured the MUCH quirkier Syd Barrett composition “Bike” which closed the album.

Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun” aside, “A Saucerful…” never sat very easily with me even after I started to get older and wiser and appreciate the band a lot more.

Truth be told I may have just bought it for the naked boobs on the front cover?!

Leave a comment

Filed under 1974 Diary Entries

Leave a Reply

