October 1st 1973

“Went to Comet after school – saw the Solarvox TAM1105 – didn’t like it”

Solarvox – or more properly – Solavox appear to still be going, producing remote controls it would seem.

Back in the day, their name was synonymous with budget stereo equipment. It doesn’t appear as if their TAM1005 (amp? tuner? what?) impressed me that much however. Instead I think I had my 15-year-old sights set a little bit higher… as an upcoming diary entry will no doubt verify.

I really did research my hi-fi & electronic purchases quite carefully, a habit which has continued through to the current day and been – for the best part – relatively rewarding and successful.

Basically I’ve realised that you rarely get something good if its the cheapest thing on the market but likewise you probably pay too much if its the most expensive. I’m always on the lookout – as most people should be – for something in between the two and which represents the right balance of quality -v- price.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1973 Diary Entries

Leave a Reply

