September 28th 1973

“Borrowed Hawkwind – rubbish”

I do believe that this refers to the Hawks’ debut album from 1970.

Although over time I have grown to appreciate some of the tracks from this release a little better (Hurry On Sundown for one) Hawkwind have – for me personally – only really been about one single, “Silver Machine“, and one album, “In Search of Space“.

My one word review in 1973 was a somewhat unwarranted but doubtless based on the fact I was expecting more of the same as I had already enjoyed. The band, however, had not fully developed that sound, resulting in a resounding “rubbish” from this particular teenager.

Perhaps too I was waiting for Stacia to pop out from the album sleeve?

Leave a comment

Filed under 1973 Diary Entries

Leave a Reply

