An Aside – My “History of Music” Project: Part VII

Here’s my piece about “Mod”. Having just read this again, I now wonder if researching this in 1975 gave me my interest  in the genre, or it was solely the responsibility of The Who’s “Quadrophenia” album a few years later?

Admittedly it did take a couple of decades to fully appreciate the Small Faces, even longer to really like Ray Davies’ songwriting. Don’t get me wrong, I adored almost all the Kinks singles they released, but most of their albums left me cold. Then, on a long train journey just 8 or 9 years ago I REALLY got into their “Village Green Preservation Society” album (from 1968) and a little (belated) love affair kicked off.

In classic “build them up then knock them down” journalistic fashion – which actually didn’t become fashionable until the early 80s’ (The Sun newspaper a master of the art), I end this nice piece on Mod with a strange reference to comedian Ken Dodd.

Leave a comment

Filed under an aside

Leave a Reply

