August 13th 1972

“went to hayling island. great fun but spent all my muny bought blinkin’ stupid fortune teller”

Hayling Island is a tiny 16-square-mile blob of land on the South Coast of England. Far too close to Portsmouth for its own good, it is connected to the mainland by a solitary bridge and a ferry.

I would imagine the fascination – at least for the 14-year-old me – was the noisy funfair located down on the south shore.

Maybe doing things like spending all my ‘muny‘ on things like this ‘blinkin’ stupid fortune teller ‘ when I was a naive teenager put me in good stead for my later life where I try NOT to waste cash on any ‘unnecessaries’.

I can’t remember the fortune teller thing. I don’t know if it was an actual toy I took away from Hayling Island with me, or it was one of those machines featured in Tom Hanks’ movie “Big“.

However, what would be the point of a teenager being transformed into the body of a teenager?

Leave a comment

Filed under 1972 Diary Entries

Leave a Reply

