July 26th 1972

“arguverge” / “nothing at all dun all day except gordon came up in afternoon and we taped slade alive sd 2. I also taped A.Rooster etc”

Gordon?

Gordon?

Aaaaaaaargh! Who ARE these people?

Finally got that Slade album committed to cassette it would seem?

A.Rooster is shorthead for the band Atomic Rooster, more specifically their minor hit “The Devil’s Answer“. (Why I would remember this so clearly I have no idea, except that I am painfully aware of the fact that I kept the tape with this track on for years!) I have no doubt that I was drawn to this band/cut because the band once featured drummer, Carl Palmer, later of…. well, I’m sure you know by now?!

But, for ‘pub trivia moment’ let me shock you by saying that Palmer’s co-conspirator in starting Atomic Rooster, Vincent Crane, went on to be a member of Dexy’s Midnight Runners in the 80’s!

Leave a comment

Filed under 1972 Diary Entries

Leave a Reply

