July 14th 1972

“End of school year (Hoorah!”) – Not a v.good report”

I’m not surprised I didn’t get a great school report. I think I had already passed my “educational prime” at the age of 11 when I took the controversial 11-plus exam at my previous school which allowed me entry to the hallowed halls of my secondary grammar school.

I certainly don’t feel I excelled in much, despite any comments that I’d come first in my class in Physics etc., and I definitely didn’t take much of what I learned back then forward into my ‘real life’ in the big, bad world. I wonder how many children do?

I am evidently excited about escaping school for the holidays. However future diary entries will reveal if I actually spent my time being in any way constructive. I have my doubts.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1972 Diary Entries

Leave a Reply

