July 12th 1972

“Swimming Gala – We won boys + girls relay – We won gala with 78 pts”

When I say “we”  I seriously doubt I am including “me”

I’m being honest when I say all this “swimming” malarkey seems so very alien and unknown to me now.

There’s a family hand-cranked cine reel of me (much younger than 14 I hasten to add) looking positively TERRIFIED of the mere 5 inches of water I am stood in on the banks of Denmark’s Roskilde Fjord. Sure I splash with my hands for the benefit of the cameraman (my Dad), but the look on my face screams “get me the hell back on to dry land this instant!”

So what would I be doing lurking about the edge of a swimming pool?

2 Comments

Filed under 1972 Diary Entries

2 responses to “July 12th 1972

  1. MissK

    “So what would I be doing lurking about the edge of a swimming pool?”

    Chicks, man.

  2. Eleanor

    My day of birth!

Leave a Reply

