July 6th 1972 (II)

“Borrowed Imagine & Ram off G.Kemp”

Like many other people, one of my more memorable early introductions to music was listening to The Beatles. More precisely from a Danish cousin who played me the Hard Day’s Night album over and over when I was maybe 7 or 8 years old and staying for one of those extended summer holidays with my grandmother in Copenhagen.

With the notable exception of McCartney’s “Band on the Run” I’ve never really shared the enthusiasm of others with regards to the Beatles’ solo releases.

I’ve always found Lennon’s “Imagine” to be a particularly maudlin affair, the title track just FAR too overplayed over the years for me to even whistle it without grimacing. The big fuss at the time was the song “How do you Sleep?“, apparently some kind of retaliation for the snidy remarks Paul made on “Ram” about Lennon.

Talking of, “Ram” is an almost totally unknown quantity to me now, so I can’t have been impressed at all back then. I remember “Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey” – as most people do – but the rest are off my radar. The one song of Paul’s that I did like from this immediate post-Beatles period was “Another Day“, but he didn’t include that on “Ram“, leaving it as a single-only release.

It may be the case that I borrowed these album just to appear ‘cool’ with the attractive young girl who loaned them to me. My friend Paul knows who I mean.

1 Comment

Filed under 1972 Diary Entries

One response to “July 6th 1972 (II)

  1. Hello, I think I’m the G Kemp who lent you the albums. May 17th 1973 you mention Imagine again, and Gina K. I have read all of these posts and remember Barton Pev and all, but I am fuzzy about people, especially the boys who were addressed by their surnames. Who is Paul?? Your blog is great!

Leave a Reply

