June 7th 1972

“Done studies for art exam” / “went out in evening. played hide + seek over park. ooh, so bludy exciting”

Please note that “bludy” – despite the terrible spelling – represents the very first swear word in my diaries!! In later years I think it goes without saying that I did learn to swear properly!

I like my interesting use of grammar, especially considering I was attending a grammar school and everything, in the sentence “done studies for art exam“. I am sure that nowadays that kind of language is tolerated, but back then I would have hoped to conduct myself with a little more decorum than that quite frankly?

hide and seek over the park” – whatever form it took, and whomever I may have played it with – I ask you, a 14-year-old teenager playing hide & seek? Puh-lease! – evidently had me bored out of my skull if the sarky qualifier “ooh, so bludy exciting” is to be believed all these years later. Maybe that church weekend of boobie-juggling made me intolerant of all less-interesting activities?

Leave a comment

Filed under 1972 Diary Entries

Leave a Reply

