June 2nd 1972

“Worse Day. Argument. Bomb Scare. Hand”

I’m sure I’ve suffered since ‘worse days’ than this one 36 years ago, but in 1972 this one obviously ‘got to me’?

If the entry has a ‘timeline’ aspect to it, then I suspect “argument” relates to some kind of parental dispute over the breakfast table, before I had even left for school that morning.

Bomb Scare” refers to a familiar past-time amongst a handful of half-wits with whom I went to school. The last couple of years had already seen IRA bomb attacks on Britain. The Post Office Tower in London was bombed in late 1971 and, in February 1972, six people died following an attack on the Aldershot Barracks in Hampshire.

Whilst the IRA had stated they intended to only ‘target’ military establishments – reprisals for the (admittedly unnecessary) atrocities carried out on January 30th (referred to now as “Bloody Sunday”) – the public were told to be on the guard in case revenge was exerted elsewhere.

A bomb scare came about when clueless morons, with nothing better to do than think they’re somehow ‘special’, would go to a public call box and call somewhere to say a bomb had been planted on the premises. Resulting in the necessity for the place to be evacuated whilst the police etc., searched the building. A HUGE amount of wasted time and resources all round really.

Later in life, I was to ‘enjoy’ the very real fear of an IRA bombing campaign – when they were targeting town centres across the country – but right now, in 1972, my school was emptied out whilst authorities investigated a ‘malicious call’. A hoax perpetrated by a couple of acne-ridden idiot numb-skulls in my class named Pete and Rick. Yes, that IS their real names, and I really don’t care that I might embarrass them by stating it ‘out loud’. Quite frankly, they deserve to continue to feel embarrassed.

As for “Hand“, I have no clue what that relates. Did I damage my hand somehow?

1 Comment

Filed under 1972 Diary Entries

One response to “June 2nd 1972

  1. When will we hear about General Sir Mike Jackson’s involvement in the bloody sunday massacre. He went on to become the head of the British army. he was also the ground commander on the day. How did he get to the top? Why was he saved? With whom was he in collusion

    The 839 year struggle continuues

Leave a Reply

