March 24th 1972 (2)

“remember to buy disco 45”

Years later during my Virgin Records period, the phrase “Disco 45” would take on a whole new meaning, specifically a descriptor of the reggae vinyl that would wing it’s way across the Atlantic from Jamaica.

In 1972 however, “Disco 45” represented something of a ‘must have’ magazine for young teens. Featuring articles, ‘glam’ photos and pop news, it’s biggest draw (at least for me) was the inclusion of sets of lyrics for hits of the time.

Now, I have a confession to make. I don’t always “hear” lyrics. I’m a rhythm and ‘feel’ person. I can acknowledge a good song’s hook at least as well as the next pop impresario, but other than the chorus it’s rare for me to know a song’s entire lyrics.

Part of me thinks I had to “remember” to buy this issue of Disco 45 for a specific reason. I – somewhat embarrassingly – believe it may have had something to do with one of my first ever entrepreneurial ventures?!

It seems such a bizarre and naive idea now, but I hand-wrote out the entire lyrics of Don McLean’s boringly-convoluted hit “American Pie” several times. and then…… sold each copy for a penny.

You may want to read that again.

My entire (eventual) music business career may have been founded on ‘pirating’ the publishing rights to one of the longest, most irritating, hits of all time.

I shall now go and sit on the naughty step for a while.

2 Comments

Filed under 1972 Diary Entries

2 responses to “March 24th 1972 (2)

  1. Even after writing out those lyrics time and time again, I’ll bet you still don’t know them.

    😉

Leave a Reply

